Showing Collections: 1 - 6 of 6
Campbell Family Papers II
Collection
Identifier: Mss. Acc. 2007.41
Scope and Contents
The Campbell Family Papers is a collection of business records, personal documents and photographs belonging to the Campbell and Sampson families of Albemarle County, Virginia dating from 1795 to 1945. The great majority of the documents are the business records of Joseph Watson Campbell (1795-1875). These include tax bills and receipts, accounts between Campbell and various merchants, receipts for goods and services received and rendered, promissory notes and papers relating to other family...
Dates:
1795-1945
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Garth Family papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 65 G19
Scope and Contents
This inventory contains personal and buisness correspondence, financial documents, loans, promissory notes, legal documents, tax information, and land records belonging to the Jesse Garth family of Charlottesville, Albemarle County, Virginia, The majority of the inventory documents correspondence chiefly from 1800-1854 between family members, mostly the adult children of Jesse and Elizabeth Garth, fl. 1798-1854, especially Lucy E. B. Garth, fl. 1820-1849; Sarah Garth Goodman, fl. 1820-1842;...
Dates:
1798-1872
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Dangerfield Lewis Papers
Collection
Identifier: Mss. 39.1 L58
Scope and Contents
Letters, accounts, and legal papers of Dangerfield Lewis of "Marmion" and "Chatterton," King George County, Northern Neck, Virginia. His correspondence concerns plantation management. The collection includes account books, 1821-1829 as well as agreements with overseers, bonds for the hiring of slaves and papers concerning runaway slaves. Also includes accounts, 1816-1846, of his father George Lewis, son of Col. Fielding Lewis and Betty Washington (sister of George Washington). There is a...
Dates:
1799-1854
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
McGavock Papers
Collection
Identifier: 01/Mss. 39.1 M17
Scope and Contents
Papers (including correspondence, legal documents, and accounts) of James McGavock (1728-1812), his son James McGavock (1764-1838) and his grandsons James McGavock (1804-1839) and Stephen McGavock (1807-1880). Many of the papers concern lead mines at Fort Chiswell, Va, slavery, agriculture, aspects of the Revolutionary War, and other. Included are a list of parish levies before 1776; receipts for supplies issued at Fort Chiswell, Wythe County, Va. and at Fort Patrick Henry, Tenn. for an...
Dates:
1760-1888
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Plantation and Farm Instruction, Regulation, Record, Inventory and Account Book
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Af27
Scope and Contents
Journal of work done on an unknown plantation, perhaps in Brunswick or Greensville County, Virginia, between January 3-June 16, 1853 and June 15-July 1, 1857. Notes on weather are given. The book includes an inventory of slaves in 1864 with their ages and in some cases their birth days recorded. There are inventories of livestock and implements, undated, but probably for 1853. There is a record of slave marriages for 1857 and births and deaths for 1857-1861, and a record of...
Dates:
1853-1864
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center
Welch Family Account Books
Collection
Identifier: Mss. MsV Ad239-258
Scope and Contents
Account books of several generations of the Welch family of Fauquier County, Virginia. The earliest book includes notes, 1767-1778, of Thomas Glascock. The early volumes were probably kept by or for Sylvester Welch (1764-1832), the later ones by or for Sylvester Welch (b. 1800).The latter Welch seems to have been a merchant and owner of grist mills. One book, 1852-1856, includes ledger accounts with free blacks as well as with slaves. The volume, 1878-1880, concerns a farm. There...
Dates:
1767-1880
Found in:
Special Collections Research Center